Skip to main content

2024 Primary Election

The Heritage Commission is comprised of nine members; two of which are advisory positions held by representatives of the Truman Presidential Library and the National Park Service. The remaining seven positions are appointed by the City Council. Members serve a three year term which expires on April 1. No member shall serve for more than two full consecutive terms, and no member shall then be reappointed in less than three years.


  • Mark Scherer (Chair), term expires April 1, 2026
  • Duane Stephens (Vice-Chair), term expires April 1, 2025
  • Josh Guldner (Secretary), term expires April 1, 2026
  • Lee Argo, term expires April 1, 2025
  • Robert Pruente, Jr., term expires April 1, 2027
  • Cori Tharp, term expires April 1, 2026
Advisory Members
  • Sam Rushay, Harry S. Truman Presidential Library & Museum
  • Carol Dage, National Parks Service


Role of the Commission

The duties of the Commission are to:

  • Initiate, review, and recommend properties for designation as a local Landmark, Historic District, or Conservation District
  • Establish specific design guidelines for the alteration, construction, relocation, or demolition of Landmarks or buildings within designated historic districts
  • Review city-wide applications for all demolition requests
  • Review all special-use permits effecting any designated property
  • Initiate, review, and make recommendations concerning National Register nominations to City Council and State Historic Preservation Office
  • Initiate, develop, and maintain cultural resource surveys and inventory
  • Work with various governmental agencies on matters involving historic properties in the City; and,
  • Review Certificate of Appropriateness and Certificate of Economic Hardship applications.

The Commission makes its recommendations to the Planning Commission and the City Council. 


Heritage Commission Agendas & Minutes