Skip to main content

The duties of this Board are to hear and determine appeals from orders, requirements and decisions of administrative officers relating to enforcement of zoning regulations, and to hear and determine applications for variances from strict application to zoning regulations.


After an application is submitted, the Board hears the case and decides whether the request should be granted based on the review criteria set forth in the Unified Development Ordinance (UDO). As a quasi-judicial body, the decisions of the Board are final. Appeals of the Board’s decision can be appealed to Circuit Court within 30 days of the decision. 

A variance may not be used to: 

  • permit a principal use in a zoning district that is not otherwise allowed in that district; 
  • waive, modify or otherwise vary any of the subdivision design or improvement standards of Article 6, Subdivision Design Improvements; 
  • waive, modify or amend any definition or use classification; 
  • waive, modify or otherwise vary any of the review and approval procedures; or 
  • waive, vary, modify or otherwise override a condition of approval or requirements imposed by another decision-making body. 

In addition to the application above, these documents will also need to be submitted: 

You can submit your application and attachments via email to  In order to be considered a complete application, after you email the documents, you will need to call 816.325.7063 to make a credit card payment over the phone.   

Board of Adjustment Meetings

Board of Adjustment meetings generally occur on the third Thursday of each month at 6 p.m. in the Independence City Hall Council Chambers, located on the lower level of City Hall at 111 E. Maple Ave. 

You can find a full list of meetings schedule for the current year below.

2024 Board of Adjustment Schedule

Agendas & Minutes

The City Council shall appoint five members, each to five (5) year terms, to expire July 1. There shall also be three (3) alternate members to serve for five (5) year terms expiring July 1.

Current Members:
  • Roy Brown (Chair), term expires July 1, 2026
  • John Davies, term expires July 1, 2027
  • Jack J. Layman, term expires July 1, 2023
  • Sarah Schofield-Wimberley, term expires July 1, 2025
  • Vacancy
Alternate Members:
  • Cody Atkinson, term expires July 1, 2026
  • Dr. Dennis Hart, term expires July 1, 2026
  • Anthony Sommer, term expires July 1, 2025