Skip to main content

2024 Primary Election

The Industrial Development Authority (IDA) was organized for the following purposes: to develop, advance, encourage, and promote commercial, industrial, agricultural, and manufacturing facilities in and about the City of Independence, Missouri, all for the benefit of Independence, Missouri, and its residents; as authorized under the Industrial Development Corporations Act (Sections 349.010 - 349.105 RSMo).

Membership Information

The IDA is a five-member Board of Directors appointed by the City Council to serve six-year terms or until a successor is duly qualified and appointed. Directors must be resident taxpayers of Independence, Missouri, for at least one year immediately prior to their appointment. 

Current members:
  • Patrick Campbell, term expires November 30, 2027
  • Joseph A. Flick, term expires November 30, 2023
  • Alex Gonzalez, term expires November 30, 2025
  • Marcia VanVelzen, term expires November 30, 2026
  • Vacancy