Skip to main content

2024 Primary Election

This Commission is charged with developing and advising the Council on the implementation of community-wide strategies for waste reduction, recycling, and sustainable growth and development. To develop and implement public recognition programs promoting individual property and neighborhood-level sustainability and beautification projects. To develop educational materials and/or public campaigns regarding litter reduction, recycling, and sustainable yard and property enhancements. To advise the City Council on any other issues and best practices related to sustainability as deemed appropriate by the Commission.

Membership Information

That the Sustainability Commission shall consist of seven members; who shall be residents of the City of Independence. Members shall serve without compensation and shall be removable at the pleasure of the City Council by a vote of at least five members of the City Council. The Commission will select its own Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Secretary, and any other officers as they deem appropriate. Staggered terms will be generated by one of the first members of the Commission serving one year, three serving two years, and three for three years. Thereafter, all members shall be appointed for three-year terms; provided, however, that all members shall continue in office until their successors have been appointed and qualified. Any vacancy shall be filled through appointment by the City Council for the unexpired term. Shall meet quarterly.

Current Members:
  • Dan McGraw (Chair), term expires October 1, 2023
  • Maureen Kennedy, term expires October 1, 2024
  • Muriel Luedeman, term expires October 1, 2024
  • John Lunn, term expires October 1, 2023
  • Madalyn Osborn, term expires October 1, 2023
  • Chrysta Sevic, term expires October 1, 2024
  • Anthony Sommer, term expires October 1, 2025