Skip to main content

2024 Primary Election

The responsibility of the Tree Commission is to study, investigate, advise, report, and recommend, on at least an annual basis, to the Director of Parks and Recreation, the Independence Park Commission, the City Manager and the Mayor and City Council any action, plan, or program determined to be necessary or advisable for the care, selection, preservation, trimming, planting, replanting, removal, or disposition of street trees and to assist in securing the cooperation and education of the residents of Independence in a coordinated and planned program of tree protection, maintenance, and planting on public and private property.

Membership Information

The Mayor with the approval of the City Council appoints five members to serve without compensation to three-year terms, except that the terms of two members initially appointed shall be for two years and the term of one initially appointed member shall be for one year. In the event of a vacancy during the term of any member, a successor shall be appointed by the Mayor for the unexpired term. Commission elects its Chairperson and vice-Chairperson. Charlotte Olejko, Park Horticulturalist, serves as liaison to the Commission.

Current Members:
  • David Campbell (Chair), term expires August 1, 2024
  • Daria Eames (Vice Chair), term expires August 1, 2025
  • Donna J. Dowell, term expires August 1, 2023
  • Twyla Olson-Hahn, term expires August 1, 2023
  • Vacancy